Skip to main content
European Commission logo

European Railway Awards 2023

Event date
STRIA Roadmaps
Infrastructure (INF)
Transport policies
Transport sectors
Passenger transport,
Passenger transport


The 16th edition of the European Railway Award ceremony will take place in Brussels on 31 January 2023 at 18:30 CET, featuring the 2023 Rail Champion award and Women in Rail Trailblazer award. The European Railway Awards is jointly organised by the Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER) and the Association of the European Rail Supply Industry (UNIFE).

The railway sector is full of bright ideas, ingenious innovation and bold policy initiatives that enhance, grow and strengthen the rail mode today and for the future. The awards ceremony celebrates these achievements by recognising the inspired individuals behind them. Whilst women and girls represent more than 50% of the passengers travelling by rail, they comprise only about 20% of the workforce. By increasing the attractiveness of the sector to women, CER believes that a more diverse workforce will increase problem-solving competence and innovation.

CER's 2023 Women in Rail Trailblazer recognises an individual, project or initiative that made a significant contribution to the promotion of women in the European rail sector in any of the following areas: safety, the work environment, education and training, career opportunities, care facilities, social responsibility, etc. Nominations closed in September 2022. 

To read about the 2022 awards' winners, click here.

To register for the event, click here.