Skip to main content
European Commission logo

INTERREG V - Transnational programmes

Programme Type
Funding programme
European (European)
European Union
STRIA Roadmaps


Background & Policy context

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC), better known as Interreg,  is one of the two goals of cohesion policy and provides a framework for the implementation of joint actions and policy exchanges between national, regional and local actors from different Member States. The overarching objective of European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is to promote a harmonious economic, social and territorial development of the Union as a whole.

Transnational cooperation, know as Interreg B, involves regions from several countries of the EU forming bigger areas. It aims to promote better cooperation and regional development within the Union by a joint approach to tackle common issues. Interreg B supports a wide range of project investment related to innovation, environment, accessibility, telecommunications, urban development etc. The transnational programmes add an important extra European dimension to regional development, developed from analysis at a European level, leading to agreed priorities and a coordinated strategic response.

Strategic Objectives

This allows meaningful work between regions from several EU Member States on matters such as communication corridors, flood management, international business and research linkages, and the development of more viable and sustainable markets. Themes covered include:

  • Innovation, especially networks of universities, research institutions, SMEs;
  • Environment, especially water resources, rivers, lakes, sea;
  • Accessibility, including telecommunications, and in particular the completion of networks;
  • Sustainable urban development, especially polycentric development.
Programme organisation

In accordance with the new design of the European Cohesion Policy 2014-2020 and the targets set out in Europe 2020, Interreg has significantly been reshaped to achieve greater impact and an even more effective use of the investments. Key elements of the 2014-2020 reform are:

  • Concentration
  • Simplification
  • Results orientation

The fifth period of Interreg is based on 11 investment priorities laid down in the ERDF Regulation contributing to the delivery of the Europe 2020 strategy for smart, sustainable and inclusive growth. At least, 80% of the budget for each cooperation programme has to concentrate on a maximum of 4 thematic objectives among the eleven EU priorities:

  • Research and Innovation
  • Information and Communication technologies
  • Competitiveness of SMEs
  • Low-carbon economy
  • Combating climate change
  • Environment and resource efficiency
  • Sustainable transport
  • Employment and mobility
  • Social inclusion
  • Better education, training
  • Better public administration

The Interreg VA programme covers a number of sub-programmes:

  • Adriatic - Ionian
  • Alpine Space
  • Atlantic Area
  • Balkan-Mediterranean
  • Baltic Sea
  • Caribbean Area
  • Central Europe
  • Danube
  • Indian Ocean Area
  • Mediterranean
  • North Sea
  • North West Europe
  • Northern Periphery and Artic
  • Plateau des Guyanes
  • South West Europe


Type of funding
Public (EU)
Total Budget
EUR 2.1 billion

Projects covered


European Commission

Contribute! Submit your programme

Do you wish to submit a project or a programme? Head over to the Contribute page, login and follow the process!